doublEEco

This is a really great blog piece from what us Dubs would call a blow in… Then again anything less than 40 years in Dublin makes you a blow in. I took a sustainable landscape course with Dave and he is a brilliant teacher and his thoughts here give an insight into why. His thoughts on the city and environment are insightful and his projects always have me green with jealousy.

thedublinproject

I have rethought my relationship with cities. After spending the first twenty odd years of my life on the rural/suburban divide, where I grew up climbing trees and swimming in oceans (and playing street hockey and riding bikes), I have now lived in cities for the past decade. With the birth of my first son a little over three years ago (and with the second one due any day!), I pledged to return to the environment of my upbringing in order to ingrain in them an appreciation for nature that I think is so important and grounding. It pained me to think I would raise my children in the confines of the city with its artificial recreations of “nature.” For this connection to the ground, to the weather, to the immensity and humbling nature of it all, is key to my understanding of the world, of people, and of survival…

View original post 592 more words

This entry was published on February 17, 2013 at 11:12 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

