doublEEco

doublEEco Projects- PARKing Day 2012

I doubt theres amy people reading this who have not heard of PARK(ing) Day (in fact I doubt there are many reading it period but whatever…).  Just in case, PARK(ing) Day is an annual worldwide event where artists, designers and citizens transform metered parking spots into temporary public parks. PARK(ing) Day in Dublin will be in its third year in 2013 so I thought I would feature a few of the past spaces (including my own)

My first time to engage with PARK(ing) day was last September when I created a parklet on the very busy road that devides my local community from the nearest schools. If you are following the Cabbage Patch Project you will know the area I mean focuses around a park but this park is lacking in ameneties for children (or adults for that matter) except what they can make from a blank expanse of grass. The day was great fun with loads of the local kids having a ball on the way home from school and even dragging the parents back for a second go.

Children of all ages...

While I have a lot of photos of the children there are many I wont publish without permission so heres just a moment in the day… I would recommend anybody interested in doing it this year contact the local organisers early and get their ideas together!

To read more see;

http://www.dublinparkingday.org/

http://www.pivotdublin.com/index.php/blog/entry/dublin_parking_day

or tweet @ParkingDayDub

This entry was published on April 22, 2013 at 12:00 pm. It’s filed under Design, Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

